Kaivian

So, I'm a big fan of survival games, like 7 days to die, and have made several small games in Unity3D (approximately 500 hours).  I'm also a professional programmer.  "The Dream" is to work on a project on the side, attract some interest, and maybe build a team to accomplish something as big as that.  

Anyways, I'm still trying to figure out how "much" functionality I get out of the binaries?  Like, can I randomly generate worlds and alter biomes and create "prefab" buildings, as a user experience?   Or am I just limited to creating a world, importing it into unity, and it's just that one "map?"  

Likewise,  I'm wondering about bugs and how they present themselves.  It's been 3 or 4 years since I played 7dtd, but I remember them having issues with their world generation, like roads and biomes creating sheer cliffs, as an example.  If I'm using voxel studios, and some kind of bug presents itself, am I going to be "out of luck" until I can get the SDKs? 

My third and final question is, I saw that "unity doesn't support voxels."  Does this mean in the rendering pipeline?  Does this mean that unity is much less performant than Unreal Engine? 

1 0
Brent R Mantel
Hey Kaivian, welcome to the forums!

I'm more amateur than you are by a stretch, I do have a Multimedia degree where much of my formal schooling was targeted at Game Design, such as graphics and coding, but I have only kept up with my programming as a hobbyist since 2005. A lot has changed since then.

I already invested my first year into Voxel Farm Indie, and while I haven't accomplished much with the software in that time, I have been using some of the features regularly in my game prototypes.

In hindsight, I should have not bought Voxel Farm until much later in the development process, as I don't have the programming expertise required to easily make use of VF's potential, even just the Indie version.